Biological Systems Engineering

News, Awards & Announcements 2013-2012

Place holder image 
June 2012 thru May 2013

Department Scholarship Winners Announced

May 17, 2013 - There were 25 applicants for the Annual BSysE Graduate Studies Acheivement Award. The selection committee was made up of The committee was made of up Juming Tang, Shyam Sablani, and Qin Zhang. Since Shulin Chen was not available, Manuel Garcia-Perez, Jonathan Lomber and Craig Frear reviewed the applications for the Bioenergy group. The committee chose five applicants, each to receive a $1,000 award: Meng Wang (Automation), Mariana Dobre (LAWREE), Wenjia Zhang (FOOD), Quan Bu (Bioenergy) and Raul Pelaez-Samaniego (Bioenergy).

Congratulations to our May 2013 Graduates

Ph.D. Biological and Agricultural Engineering: Shuai Zhou, Prossie Nakawuka, Sumeet Dhawan, Yubin Zheng, and Joseph Wagenbrenner. Ph.D. Engineering Science: Bandar Alfaifi, Jieni Lian. Masters Biological and Agricultural Engineering: Tim Ewing. Masters Engineering Science: Xin Gao,

Manuel Garcia-Perez, works on fossil fuel independence.

May 7, 2013 - Manuel Garcia-Perez, a member of Washington State University’s "clean energy” team of scientists, is ambitious to develop the next generation of technologies to reduce dependence on fossil fuels. He is also dynamic in advancing this research through international collaborations. More at WSUNews

Annual BSysE512 Poster Presentation A Big Success

April 24, 2014 - The annual BSYSE512 poster competition was a big success with 1st place award going to Ravi Tadapaneneni (Advisor Dr. Juming Tang), 2nd place to Diana Zapata (Advisor Dr. Gerrit Hoogenboom) and 3rd place going o Poonam Bajaj (Advisor Dr. Shyam Sublani). Dr. Joan Wu reports that all the students did an impressive job and many, Nydia and Charles in particular, assisted Roger in setting up the presentations. The department provided refreshments and cash awards to the winners.

Ellen Bornhorst is selected for NASA summer Internship

April 23, 2013 - Ellen Bornhorst is one of 20 students nationwide selected for the National Space Biomedical Research Institute 10-week summer internship program. More at WSUNews

Roger Nelson attends AgMIP workshop

February 8, 2013 - Roger Neslon attended the Agricultural Model Intercomparison and Improvement Project (AgMIP) development workshop at the Texas Advanced Computing Center in Austin Texas where he worked with other crop modeling and information technology experts to create a common data access method that can be used by a wide array of agricultural related models. More information at the Texas Advanced Computer Center

Awards Ceremony December 2012

BSysE Group PicOnce Again, our annual award ceremony was a great success. New friends and colleagues were introduced, current ones received awards, and we honored and congratulated those who would be leaving us. For the first time all branch locations (Pullman, Prosser, Puyallup, and Tri-Cities) joined together via the video conference system. Pictures

Our 2012-2011 Graduates

Romulus Okwany Ph.D.Ph.D. Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Ofero Caparino, Shunshan Jiao, Romulus Okwany, Fermin Resurreccion Jr., and
Roopesh Syamaladevi

M.S. Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Tina Karimi, Chao Miao, Dong Jie Shen, Matthew Smith, and Xiang Dong Liu

M.S. Engineering

Hussin Alshantiri and Sunil KumarShyam S. Sablani with group

WSU Trains Philippine Executives in Food Safety Management

This integrated program melds lectures, technical instruction, laboratory observations, industry visits and "hands-on” experience in postharvest management, cold chain and postharvest procedures relevant to food safety and reduction in food losses and waste. Shyam S. Sablani and Jane Payumo, international research coordinator in the WSU Office of International Programs, developed this program together with other WSU experts from BSysE, Food Science, Horticulture and the Office of Intellectual Property Administration. More at WSUToday

Juming Tang recipient of 2012 ASABE International Food Engineering Award

Juming TangThis award "Honors and recognizes food engineering professionals from all parts of the world, who have made significant engineering contributions in research, development or design of food processes significant to the food industry; and in outstanding leadership, management or education to advance the food engineering profession."  More at the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE)

Wenjia ZhangWenjia Zhang wins 1st place poster award at IMPI 46

Graduate student Wenjia Zhang's poster presentation titled "Physical Properties of Egg Whites and Whole Eggs Relevant to Microwave Pasteurization" received 1st place poster award at the 46th IMPI (International Microwave Power Institute) symposium held in Las Vegas, June 2012. Wenjia Zhang works with Dr. Juming Tang's microwave pasteurization group. The International Microwave Power Institute is the leading global association dedicated to the exchange of information on all aspects of microwave and RF heating technologies.

Juming Tang Radio Frequency Research featured article in WSUToday

Yang Jiao, Juming Tang, Shunshan JiaoJuming Tang, Distinguished Chair Food Engineering, recent Ph.D. Graduate Shunshan Jiao, and doctoral student Yang Jiao featured in WSUtoday article discussing Dr. Tang's radio frequency research.
More at WSUToday


BSysE students Win Poster Competition

BSysE Students Yang Jiao Peng Jing Ellen Bornhorst Sumeet Dhawan Roopesh Syamaladevi Dr. Caleb Nindo Unknown Kanishka Bhunia Wenjia Zhang Rossana Villa Rojas Ofero Caparino Amir Golmohamadi Nageshwar Rao Tammineni The research posters of Kanishka Bhunia and Roopesh Syamaladevi won first and third places, respectively at the Lewis-Clark section of Institute of Food Technologists 2012 Student Research Poster competition. Kanishka and Roopesh work with assistant professor and scientist Shyam Sablani. Also attending this conference were BSysE graduate students Yang Jiao, Peng Jing, Ellen Bornhorst, Sumeet Dhawan, Wenjia Zhang, Rossana Villa Rojas, and Ofero Caparino.

BSysE Students Win PLACE Student Packaging Design Competition (May2012)

Wenjia ZhangRoopesh SyamaladeviFermin ResurreccionSumeet DhawanOfero CaparinoThe TAPPI organization announced that five BSysE students; Ofero Caparino, Sumeet Dhawan, Fermin Resurreccion, Roopesh Syamaladevi, and Wenjia Zhang took first place in the PLACE packaging design competition with their BoteFlex design. Complete article at WSUToday.

Shi-Shen LIawCougsCARE design team places second in Hydrogen Education Foundation Competition

June 1, 2012 - Brennan Pecha (ChemE), Jacob Bair (ME), Eli Chambers (ChemE), Cale Levengood (ME), and Shi-Shen Liaw (BioSysE); members of the WSU CougsCARE team avised by Jacob Leachman, Su Ha, and Manuel Garcia-Perez took 2nd place in the annual Hydrogen Education Foundation Competition with a "Combined Heat, Hydrogen and Power (CHHP) system design for WSU using local resources.

More News about the Students, Faculty and Staff at BSysE








May 8, 2013 vsh
BSysE is one of the best....[more]

Department News

Shyam Sablani is Cocharan Fellowship Program
Training Lead... .[more]
Dr. Shyam Sablani
Manoj Karkee Recieves USDA Tree Fruit Harvesting Grant ....[more]
Manoj Karkee
Qin Zhang named ASABE fellow....[more]
Qin Zhang Fellow
Ogderel Bumandalai in WSUNews ...[more]
Ogderel Bumandalai with Wheat Farmer
BSysE sends 25 Students to ASABE
Dr. Craig FrearDr. Craig Frear talks about
WSU Anaerobic Digestin Systems
Field Day
New Faculty Members Lav R. Khot and Sindhuja Sankaran join BSysE. [more]
Dr. Sankaran & Dr. Khot



H3 Heading

Additional Information Goes Here.

Biological Systems Engineering, PO Box 646120, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-6120, 509-335-1578, Contact Us